Master craftsman, Harry Ball built the first Parkison General Store in 1898 and the historic Virginian Hotel in Medicine Bow. He built this house for the Parkisons when the family moved from Denver, Colorado in 1907. This house stayed within the Parkison family from the day it was built until it was donated to the GEM in 1996.
Ed Parkison commissioned this home with all its luxuries to convince his wife to stay in a small town. This house was one of the first in Encampment to have electricity and running water.